3 Comments

Splendid


GET READY…
to laugh
COS
it’s been a week on
the
road
in
FLORIDA
Have I told you lately
how much
I love
pullin in the driveway
after
being away
from home?
HOME
ohhh
I am just
giddy this morning
or
outright
exhausted
and
dulious? delicious? delightful? delirious?
Depends on how you view it
some things are marvelous
and
sometimes
they are just too good not to share
even
when others may
try to
Pee in your cheerios!!!
I have spent three days
with some
“off the hook”
fantastically
effervessiant, splendid
PROFESSIONAL CAREGIVERS
in the state of
FLORIDA!!!
oH WaiT
this is
my STATE!!!
NOPE
not prejudice
at all,
it has just turned out to be
a state
and
a road trip from hell…
One
that started out
with
Enterprise Rental car
and
a cocky little fellow
who is right now probably wondering where his precious
Mercury big ole blue
car is…
as I am drinking my coffee and trying to get my wits about me to
go and get in that big ole’ thing to drive up there and return it to that little
fellow who was not my idea of
“great customer service”.
NOTE TO SELF: use another rental car service and let the folks who book it for me know
that we do have options next time
here
in Tarpon Springs!
><
For those reading around the world
today is a geography lesson as well
and
for those at PESI
my dear friend Marnie has also made a note to herself that this was a
“road trip” and effort to wear out her
DRSES
So
after my beginning with
ole
Enterprise
I buckled in to the huge
Mercury and set out to Orlando,
arriving at a hotel right near ole’
Seaworld!
Yep… so close but so far from the rides, the entertainment, and the dolphins and Shamu…
BUT
a great coordinator, and most wonderful folks
for a day
that began with smooth sailing
and continental breakfast as they all do,
fresh coffee
and
mest some of
Orlando’s finest!
They worked hard, and they left in great spirits to fight traffic
and to get back to the hard work being done with many there
and also fighting the throngs of tourists that they have to dodge in their everyday lives!
AND
then
at 430p or so,
it was
on the
4West to
TAMPa
to the
most wonderful *(and my favorite place to stay()
the
Embassy Suites of Tampa!
Oh what a lovely property that is in Tampa!
I was able to meet my Bff There for dinner
who joined me and
met the
room service man in a suite that was larger than many apartments for a great evening
and
spectacualar dinner
and conversation
after
that harrowing drive!
6am the next morning
I was
SWAGGA ON
good morning
TAMPA
as I went down for my
complimentary
and
delicious omelette
and
met a lovely woman who fixed that omelette
and
was just a sweet as she could be…
and
then I sat outside and enjoyed my complimentary coffee and the paper
waiting to start my day
I had set up on my part,
now knowing my coordinator would take care of the details, the magic box from
the company would arrive
and
I wondered if I would see old familar faces
from
Hospice
or around that I had known
as the morning began.
I looked up as I heard a gentleman ask
If I was
Dr Showalter?
I smiled and said
“why yes I am!”
Thinking perhaps he wanted me to sign a copy of
Healing Heartaches maybe…
But ohhh no
he was wanting to know where he would
“sign in” for the day. So I told him
he was to do that at the table with the coordinator in the room over there!
and
then it happened…
He said,
“No One IS there”~
Ok,
didn’t need to read about bad news around the world anyway,
so I smiled and said, well guess we better see about it!
As I walked into the room,
there was
NO BOX,
there was
NO COORDINATOR
to help with the
tasks of the day
as in
“sign people in, give them manuals, do the things that coordinators do”.
OHHH poop!
I sent my buddy a text to let her know and went to the desk to see about my box.
EMBASSSY SUITES OF TAMPA
oh how you have let me down
with your lack of interest, lack of care, lack of ….
as you tell me
“we don’t have a box”
and
“we don’t really give a damn attitude”!
The Embassy Suites of Tampa
says,
“We don’t have a box, but we’ll look for it”
and
have you ever had anyone say that
with that “tone” that makes you know
they really have no interest?
As I made my way back up the elevator, across the dining area, outside and down the steps
to the room that we were in
I found that all were seated for a day
on
COMPASSION FATIGUE
in
my state!
Good that they had coffee and continental breakfast!
BUT
they had NO manuals, no sign in sheets,
and
I had NO coordinator
as
I introduced my self
and
prayed they could be as the willow
and
strong enough to bend
while I asked for their understanding
and
asked the gentleman to pass around a sheet of paper for them all to SIGN IN
while assuring them they will get their
“CEU’s” that they had come for
and
that we WOULD HAVE A GREAT DAY!
Around 10am an Embassy Person arrived with a
“fax” and it had a “real sign in sheet” for the participants to put their names!
Interestingly it also
had
a
Wedding Contract attached!
Well I got a bit worried thinking I might have to marry someone at lunchtime.
And sure enough with pressure from my folks up there in Wisconsin and me letting the Embassy Suites in Tampa
know
of my profound disappointment
my
box arrived near noon!
and
heaven help whoever is trying to get married there
as I was in possession of their contract to the sales department.
INteresting to note,
the
Director of Sales and Marketing is the woman who informed me that there
WAS NO BOX
and
in fact she is the one WHO SIGNED FOR THE BOX!
The day started out a bit lumpy,
they had the nerve to charge my participants to park
on the property
even after all of that.
shame on ya …
BUT
all the copies of
Healing Heartaches sold out by the end of the day
and
I was in the middle of some of the finest folks I gotta tell ya
Tampa, Gainesville, Sarasota, Orlando, Jacksonville
FLORIDA
WOW
this state
and the organizations
and individuals
investing and taking the time out
to attend
Compassion Fatigue
seminars
are doing some hard work out there
for so many.
i LEFT Tampa grateful
after being with some of the best
and
since
ole Enterprise did NOT have a gps for me to rent
I had to download an “app for that”
and
now headed to
Jacksonville Florida!
I arrived at
the
Wyndham
on the Riverfront after dark.
I met a fantastic young man who valet parked the monster mobile Mercury for me
by the name of Bodhi.
He was a delight.
He then sent me to the desk, where I met the second
wonderful and only second great thing
at the
Wyndham on the Riverfront of Jacksonville.
Her name was Kristin.
As I was ready to lay down she let me know it would be a few minutes before my room was ready?
it was after all only after 8pm!!!
Humor is a valued ingredient in self care and in coping my darlings…
So I just looked haggard, and looked at her and said,
“see these two bags dear one… seee me?
Seee that bar there… I am goin over there, I am goin to have a black russian and lean against that wall. When we are ready, I want you to get one of those rolly carts and roll me to my room ok?”

I was tired I tell you… just tired! She just giggled and Bodhi had come to tell me he was goin to park the car, and would just write “Doc” on the ticket! With that Kristin wrote a little gift for me and it was a “free drink card”…

Now that
IS
Better!
I had already texted my
PESI contact and pal
Marnie
saying
“what were you thinking” with this tour
having me drive from my home
to
ORLANDO
back
to
Tampa
and then
JACKSONVILLE?
I sure hope you have me a drink waiting in Jacksonville after
NO COORDINATOR AND NO BOX
needless to say
there was NO drink waiting from here!
Good ole’ Marnie
sends me a reply saying,
“oh gosh Dr Sherry I guess somone else drank it”
><
I get up to the room
where sweet Kristin had already sent my bags,
the bed is lovely
has a big pillow
with words that say
“BE WELL”
and
call room service
ask a question
the man says
NO and hangs up on me!
welcome to the Wyndham in jacksonville
6AM COMES EARLY
and at 6:15am I find out where I am speaking,
and
ask for where is the complimentary coffee
only to here the desk person inform me
THERE IS NO FREE COFFEE
you can buy a cup for 2bucks
and
“I don’t even get coffee”
(sorry buddy but I don’t really care what you do or do not get)
and where again am I speaking?
I arrive to the room that feels like I am standing in hell it is so hot there,
notice there is
NO BOX on the table;
there is no table for me to set up my AV
equipment, no podium;
and
the one of many managers is flitting around.
I ask for what I need
STARTING WITH THE PESI box
the temperature lowered
and various and other things!
and
COFFEE.
He lets me know I can go to the restaurant and to tell them to “give me a cup of coffee”,
which one would think is easy,
but
NOT at the Wyndham of Jacksonville
so
I of course let them know
that I blog
and will of course let readers know
that this lovely property
is probably the
ONLY property
that does not give its guests a cup of coffee
as he ushers me out
telling me to enjoy my coffee~~~
At 730 there is
NO BOX
no continental breakfast
there is
a lovely coordinator
who is panicing cos’ there is NO box
and
no real desire to find it
from the many there.
There are folks
comin in
and
there is HEAT
IT
IS
HOT
VERY HOT IN THE ROOM
and”
yes
I have been on the phone
on
the text
to
PESI
DAY TWO THERE IS NO BOX
“I have one nerve left and they are standing on it at the Wyndham”
As we begin the day,
my introduction
is unlike most
as I welcome folks from Jacksonville
and
From Georgia.
We talk about my speaking in my state
we talk about
stress
and
living in the ‘no pressure zone’
as we now see the Wyndham in action
or lack thereof!
The box finally arrives and folks get checked in
after I am told that PESI did not order breakfast but only coffee
and
I smile saying I have them on the phone,
is your director of catoring on property?
PESI always always has breakfast for its participants!
A bit later we see a lady come in;
she has food;
it was after AFTER
I had told participants
that they may want to you tube
Jodi Messina
singing
“My Give a Damn Is Busted”
a great song!
One that will make them laugh
one that may remind them of this morning
and
one that also speaks to many things!
They were laughing
as this woman
came in the door
and
this is what she brought

They were sooo proud!

Can  you IMAGINE?
Yes, really
THAT WAS ALL
THERE WAS
no bagels, no donuts, no cream cheeze
no nuthin but
bite size that!
and
only that many!!!
PESI WILL HAVE A FINE FIT
when they get this picture
can u say
“let’s not stay at the
Wyndham Riverfront Jacksonville”
where
you get no complimentary coffee
you get
NO concern that a box that has been signed for
is not sitting where it is supposed to be
prior to your walking in the room
WHERE
the A/C
cannot make a room comfortable
ALL DAY LONG
and
it appears
no one really cares
and
on top of all of that
they charged
the folks to park?
When they could have just as easily have
said
“don’t worry about it”
let us make it right for you for all you had to go through today“!

The most remarkable thing
about
spending the day with folks
as you
build resiliency
and
restore passion and refuel folks
for the work they do
is that you also
empower…
STOMP

aNOTHER man entered and let us know he was working on lowering the A/C temp, asked if we wanted fans?
WE WERE IN A FANCY WYNDHAM HOTEL?
and
I said, we will all take a free lunch instead and cocktails we need cocktails now, i’ll have a black russian!
the room exploded with laughter.
As I am moving into the lecture of the day,
the same man returns
interrupts the lecture, walks straight up to me
with what looked like a cup of coffee with a lid on it:
time?
10:15AM
in the cup?
I tasted it:
a
WHITE RUSSIAN
MILK/VODKA/KALUAH
soo STRONG i almost choked!
My participants were hysterical
and
I was absolutely choking with laughter
and
stated
“now that is one way to shut someone up or
incite them to riot, they have me on the warpath already today
and
now they are giving me firewater?”
ANd so it was, the third day of speaking after as you can see on the map, driving all over the state of Florida
to meet and be with
some of the finest of the fine
in the state of Florida.
and
NO
I did not drink that nasty drink
who in the world would ruin a good drink by putting milk in it anyways?
LOL
In Jacksonville we did do some hard work
the participants dug deep
exploring the causes, effects, impact
of caring and giving so much of themselves for those they are honored to care for, to serve, to walk with during some difficult times.
Professional caregivers often give so much to others
that
they forget…
THEY HAVE THEIR OWN LIVES
I feel it is critical
that
I spend some time
reminding them
LIFE IS FOR THE LIVING
AND
YOU MUST LIVE YOUR LIFE
FULLY
><
DON’T BLINK
and
remember dear ones…
I’LL STAND BY YOU!
 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vU_JL-f0AN8
Thank you Jacksonvile For a joyous day
a splendid lunch, stimulating conversation
and
for
the great patience you showed as we stepped through the many complications
there in that fancy hotel..
MOSTLY
I thank you for keeping it
REAL.
Oh how it rained and the lightING streaked the skies as I travelled home
on that 5 plus hour trip last night!
I pulled that big ole car in the driveway and was ready to kiss the pavement
as
I could hear the squeals of delight from the four leggeds awaiting me from inside!
Many I met in Jax I bet were going to the movies last night to see
“THE HELP”
as we talked about it
and
as I
reminded all there
and
today will remind all here:
YOU IS KIND, YOU IS SPECIAL YOU IS BEAUTIFUL
A special shout out
to
my Godson
D’Vante
go get it baby boy
with those Bobcats tonight!
Sho do hope you all can take it and WIN…
I’ll be hollering from here in Florida for ya,
da Godmother loves some #51 and the Bobcats
up there in Radford VA!
To and for the rest
to see where I’ll be next
go to:
pesi.com and in the search hit compassion fatigue drsherrye showalter
and it should tell ya, but if I’m not doing somethin for them I’ll be out there speakin to someone somewhere else!
Wherever I am, I’ll remember you from where I’ve been, and I am grateful!
Where ever you are, whatever you are doing…
Get your passion on, and do it well
OHHH
Marnie?
Shannon?
Julie/Bonnie?
I need to feel the love my darlings!!!
October 3 I’ll be in the friendly skies
flying to CT and Rhode Island!
until then
it’s
waiting to hear if
I’ll be running with the wind
out
to
South Dakota
yes
my friends
South Dakota
it is still a part of the
UNITED STATES
out there where
Native Americans
live
and
are dying with the largest suicide rates of teens and young people
the highest alcholism rates
and
the highest poverty rates
in
the
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
yes
a part of our great Nation
where
not one celebrity
not
one President
has
taken a stand
for our
FIRST AMERICANS
where
post trauma and inter generational
chronic sorrow
lives
and
so many are
wondering
“do you remember us?”
><
visit and hear the voice of my friend
Walter LittleMooon
of
Wounded Knee http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1194934361/the-thick-dark-fog
also
a
Vietnam Veteran
“THANK YOU WALTER”
Walk In beauty,
DRSES


3 comments on “Splendid

  1. It's SATURDAY now, and I am still reading yesterday's blog ( LOL, slow reader ! )Sherry, you are TOO much with events, antics, situations and resolutions. I love your sharp tongue and quick wit. The take-charge attitude. STOMP them everywhere you go !Glad you are back home, more from me, later.Irene, screaming into FALL

  2. HI there friend. I read and laughed all the way through the speaking experience. I must say you handled this all well and I am amazed at all the things that happened. If something could go wrong..it seemed to. Humor is such a good tool and you lady have that great sense of humor. What a great read.And then I read down to Dakota and tears formed in my eyes. How can our country abandon them. I would like to say we have come a LONG ways but when I read this…I realize..that many things are still from the dark ages.Hugs friend and hope you are resting and enjoying that pool. Prayers on the wings of an eagle for ya.EE

  3. helloooooo.WELCOME HOME ! !and oh my, what a short strange trip it's been… the visuals from your story, in my mind's eye….I've got myself in stitches here..Sounds as if you had a taste of that good ole Floridian hospitality, along with the true sense of "inurgency" that took me years to get used to.. here we sit, FLA., ranked in the top two or three highest tourism states in the USA and definitely in the top two or three worst customer service providers… hmmm, hospitality ?? but of course Doc Sherry can pull it off, magic wand unseen by. the audience,and find the ever shining silver lining !!My nerves were shot by the time you arrived at the " Now World Infamous Wyndam " As a full time provider of customer service, I can attest that here in our state, we are proud to be the best at being the worst. hehee.I admire your way with words, your sense of humor and your innate ability to share the sunshine cuz you know, you made my day !I have had the pleasure of two fractured ribs for the past week, finally finding a bit of relief today thanks to my other favorite Doc and his cortisone shot and magic bag of " feel better tricks ".I have enjoyed immensely the storms of the end of summer, like waterfalls from the heavens…pounding rythms of peace into my soul…Welcome Autumn ! and of course, DO NOT BLINK..for soon enough we will be hearing sleighbellswithout the snow…Wishing for all a happy day, thanks again for sharing your laughter… sign me, hugging and thanking my angels, A. ♥STOMP !

Leave a Reply

